Top Banner
Home | BCC | Boards | Departments | Event Calendar | Contact
2018 Meetings
2017 Meetings
2016 Meetings
2015 Meetings
2014 Meetings
2013 Meetings
2012 Meetings
2011 Meetings
2010 Meetings
2009 Meetings
2008 Meetings
2007 Meetings
2006 Meetings
2008 Meeting Schedule
2008 Meeting Schedule
2008 Meeting Schedule

2040 Long Range Transportation Plan
Home > Other Boards, Committees and Councils > Metropolitan Planning Organization
Statement of Function

The Indian River County Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO), formed in April 1993, is a legislative agency responsible for transportation planning in the urbanized area of Indian River County. It has the power to develop and adopt plans and to set priorities for the programming of improvements to the County's transportation system. The MPO consists of Twelve voting members representing the local governments within the County, two non-voting representatives from the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT), and a non-voting representative from the Town of Orchid. Funding is through a Joint Participation Agreement for Federal PL/Section 112 funding. This is an agreement between FDOT and the MPO, which provides for the pass through of these federal funds. Dollars are approved on an annual basis. The percentage of Federal, State and local dollars varies from year to year. Two advisory committees provide direction and recommendations to the MPO Board. These are the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) and the Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC). The TAC provides technical expertise to the MPO Board regarding matters to be considered by the MPO and on planning issues being undertaken by MPO staff. The CAC provides citizen input into the MPO planning process and ensures a high degree of public involvement in that process. Another advisory committee, the Bicycle/Pedestrian Advisory Committee, meets on an as-needed basis to advise the MPO regarding bicycle and pedestrian issues.

12 voting members: (5) County Commissioners, (2) City of Vero Beach, (2) City of Sebastian, (1) Town of Indian River Shores, (1) City of Fellsmere. (1) School Board - Total of 3 ex-officio non-voting members: (1) Town of Orchid; (1) FDOT District 4 Secretary; (1) FDOT State Transportation Planner. Term of office 4-years.

Meetings are held on the second Wednesday of each month at 10:00 a.m. at the County Administration Building B, 1800 27th Street, Vero Beach, FL in Conference Room B1-501.

  • Susan Adams - County Commissioner
  • Joseph E. Flescher - County Commissioner
  • Tim Zorc - County Commissioner
  • Peter D. O'Bryan- County Commissioner
  • Bob Solari- (Vice Chairman) County Commissioner
  • Councilmember Laura Moss - City of Vero Beach
  • Councilmember Lange Sykes - City of Vero Beach
  • Councilmember Ed Dodd - City of Sebastian
  • Bob McPartlan (Chairman) - City of Sebastian
  • Councilmember Dick Haverland - Town of Indian River Shores
  • Vice Mayor Sara Savage - Fellsmere
  • Shawn Frost - School Board

Get Acrobat

Valid HTML 4.01!
Level A conformance icon, 
          W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0
Problems with the site? Email the Webmaster