Top Banner
Home | BCC | Boards | Departments | Contact
Home > Departments > Public Works > Stormwater Section > Federal National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) developed the federal National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) in two phases. Phase I, promulgated in 1990, addresses the following sources:

  • “Large” and “medium” municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4s) located in incorporated places and counties with populations of 100,000 or more, and
  • Eleven categories of industrial activity, one of which is large construction activity that disturbs 5 or more acres of land.

Phase II, promulgated in 1999, addresses additional sources, including MS4s not regulated under Phase I, and small construction activity disturbing between 1 and 5 acres.

In October 2000, EPA authorized the Florida Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) to implement the NPDES stormwater permitting program in the State of Florida (in all areas except Indian Country lands). DEP’s authority to administer the NPDES program is set forth in Section 403.0885, Florida Statutes (F.S.) The NPDES stormwater program regulates point source discharges of stormwater into surface waters of the State of Florida from certain municipal, industrial, and construction activities. As the NPDES stormwater permitting authority, DEP is responsible for promulgating rules and issuing permits, managing and reviewing permit applications, and performing compliance and enforcement activities.

What are the requirements of the permit?
The purpose of the permit is to develop, implement, and enforce a Stormwater Management Program to reduce the discharge of pollutants to the Maximum Extent Practicable, protect water quality, and satisfy water quality requirements of the Clean Water Act. The requirements can be met by implementing Best Management Practices (BMPs) to meet the Six Minimum Control Measures prescribed by the EPA.

Indian River County, a permitted MS4, is responsible for implementing various programs under each one of the Six Minimum Control Measures listed below. The Six Minimum Control Measures are:

  1. Public Education and Outreach
  2. Public Involvement and Participation
  3. Illicit Discharge and Detection
  4. Construction Site Runoff Control
  5. Post Construction and Stormwater Management
  6. Good Housekeeping and Pollution Prevention

For more information contact:

Get Acrobat

Valid HTML 4.01!
Level A conformance icon, 
          W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0
Problems with the site? Email the Webmaster